Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission

The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission (AMPC), in partnership with the people of Akwesasne, provide a policing a service that:

  • Promotes public peace, well-being and security;
  • Promotes the prevention and detection of crime;
  • Provides appropriate enforcement of all laws; and
  • Promotes and supports community policing.

As the AMPC continues to oversee the quality and provision of service of the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Services (AMPS), it has been very active in its duties and functions to ensure that Akwesasne codes, laws, by-laws and / or regulations, including operational procedures, are adhered to in order to meet the needs directly associated to the health and safety of its staff and the community.

In late 2016, the AMPC’s three-year (3-yr) terms had expired. Your NEW Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission members for the next three-year (3-yr) term (2016 – 2019) are as follows:

Cole, Gary

Chair (Kawehnoke)

2016 – 2019
Jacobs, Regina Tsi Snaihne 2016 – 2019
Peters, Caroline Tsi Snaihne 2016 – 2019
Benedict Kateri Kawehnoke 2016 – 2019
Jackson, Joanne Kanatakon 2016 – 2019
Terrance-Francis, Valerie Kanatakon 2016 – 2019
Thomas, Steve (Chief) Public Safety Portfolio 2015 – 2018
O’Brien, Lee Ann A/Chief of Police Not Applicable
Swamp, JoAnn Tsi Snaihne Recording Secretary


In doing so, AMPS and AMPC have been working in a collaborative effort with ongoing investigations (i.e. homicides, drownings, victim / officer trauma, etc.), operations (i.e. budgeting, agreements, vacancies, etc.), and policies (i.e. creation, revisions, etc.). The Commission also meets with the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne’s (MCA’s) Public Safety Portfolio Chair who reports on various public safety issues brought forth by the Public Safety membership (i.e. Compliance, Conservation, Emergency Measures, Environmental Health, Environment, AMPS, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Police, etc.) as well as the community (i.e. fuel spills, loose dogs, flooding, etc.).

The Commission has been actively working in collaboration with MCA’s new Executive Director, Jordan Wapass on administrative and Human Resource initiatives. Mr. Wapass’ education and work experience have been advantageous and beneficial to the Commission.

The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Commission looks forward to the next three-years and the challenges which it will bring, working with our new partners and sharing ideas and initiatives that will improve service delivery to the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Services.