The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service has been in existence since the 1960s. In 1971, the Band Council passed a Resolution to name the police Service the “St.Regis Akwesasne Police Department.”

In 1973, the St.Regis Akwesasne Police Officers were accepted into the Ontario Police College Basic Training Program.

In 1986, the Band Council of Akwesasne passed another resolution to rename the police department to the “Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service.”

Today, the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service has 42 sworn officers and 11 civilian members, including six full-time public safety dispatchers. The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service has jurisdiction and authority in Quebec and Ontario.

The Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service (AMPS) is a stand-alone First Nation Police Service with jurisdiction in the Akwesasne Mohawk Territory with a very unique and complex jurisdiction.

The Mohawk territory of Akwesasne includes portions in Ontario and Quebec within Canada and New York State of the United States of America. It is situated along the St. Lawrence River and spans approximately 25,000 acres of land, including 37 km of waterways and 57 islands. No other First Nation community in Canada has this unique jurisdiction and geographic features.


Please navigate through our additional about us information!

Scroll to top